Proudly South African

Roelof Rossouw is one of my favourite artist’s and a fellow South African.  I absolutely love his use of colour and brush strokes.   He uses bold colours but at the same time his paintings are very soothing.

Roelof grew up in Benoni, near Johannesburg and loves painting the city and landscapes, street scenes, figures, boats and harbours, architecture, parks and gardens.

Roelof Rossouw

Roelof Rossouw

“I simply want to delight the visual senses and therefore subject matter is merely a tool I use.  Firstly I paint for myself and I never paint something I don’t enjoy”, said Roelof.

I would love to own one of his paintings!

Here are a few of my favourites, all scenes from places in South Africa:

Street scene, Carnarvon

Street scene, Carnarvon

View from Delheim Wine Farm

View from Delheim Wine Farm

Hout Bay

Hout Bay

Homeward Bound, Clarens

Homeward Bound, Clarens

Montagu

Montagu

Don’t you just love these…

